ASC History

The Australian Schools Championships (formerly known as the National School Basketball Tournament) first began in Sydney in 1983. In the tournament's first year, Templestowe High School won both the Men's and Women's Championship Divisions.

Twenty-five years on, in 2008 a record number of teams nominated for the championship and over 1,300 young athletes represented 145 school teams from seven States and Territories at the Championship. Hosted by the Newcastle Basketball Association in conjunction with Basketball Australia and Basketball NSW, the athletes competed across 19 Junior and Senior, Male and Female divisions, with the winners crowned as the best school basketball team in their division in the country.

The tournament now runs in the first week of December each year with three age groups; Senior (19 & Under), Junior (17 & under) and Freshman (15 & Under). The top senior team from each state competes in the Championship Division for the ultimate title.

Previous Championship Division Winners

YearLocationMale ChampionFemale Champion
1983SydneyTemplestowe HSTemplestowe HS
1984BrisbaneCondell Park HSTemplestowe HS
1985MelbourneMelbourne HSTemplestowe HS
1986AdelaideSt Peter's HSNazareth College
1987CanberraMarcellin CollegeNazareth College
1988WollongongKeira HSLake Ginninderra College
1989BrisbaneKeira HSLake Ginninderra College
1990MelbourneFig Tree HSLake Ginninderra College
1991PerthWirreanda HSBendigo Collee
1992AdelaideMarist CollegeDaramalan College
1993CanberraWilletton SHSDaramalan College
1994PenrithWilletton SHSWilletton SHS
1995DevonportParade CollegeWilletton SHS
1996CanberraSt Patrick's Marist CollegeMurray High School
1997CanberraLake Ginninderra CollegeWilletton SHS
1998CanberraTownsville SHSNazareth College
1999CanberraWamers BayTownsville GS
2000CanberraLake Ginninderra CollegeErindale College
2001BallaratLake Ginninderra CollegeWestfield Sports HS
2002BallaratJohn Paul CollegeJohn Paul College
2003BallaratJohn Paul CollegeJohn Paul College
2004AlburyOakhill CollegeTerrigal HS
2005AlburyJohn Paul CollegeCaulfield Grammar
2006GeelongTownsville SHSCaulfield Grammar
2007GeelongLake Ginninderra CollegeJohn Paul College
2008NewcastleCaulfield GrammarXavier High School
2009NewcastleCaulfield GrammarBox Hill Secondary College
2010BendigoSydney Boys High SchoolJohn Paul College
2011BendigoSydney Boys High SchoolJohn Paul College
2012Kilsyth/KnoxCaulfield GrammarJohn Paul College
2013Kilsyth/KnoxLake Ginninderra CollegeRowville Secondary College
2014CanberraSt Augustine's CollegeRowville Secondary College
2015CanberraLake Ginninderra CollegeJohn Paul College
2016MelbourneMarcellin CollegeBox Hill Secondary College
  • Basketball


    • Which Opal will have the best 2017/18 WNBL season?

      View Results

      Loading ... Loading ...