Preparations for the 2017 Australian Under-14 Club Championships are in full swing with the release of the list of teams competing in this year’s tournament.

For just the second time ever, the boys and girls competitions will be held as one event with Dandenong Basketball hosting all games at the Dandenong Basketball Stadium from October 2-7.

In order to compete in the Australian Under-14 Club Champs, teams must qualify through their respective state competitions.

As one of the more successful teams in the boys competition, the Rangers will be hoping to defend their home court and take out the Ken Watson Trophy after claiming the Medibank National Junior Classic just a few months ago.

They come into this tournament as the number one seed from Victoria and were the Under-14 Champions in 1991, ’94, ’98, ’03 and ’09 before going back-to-back in 2012-13.

The Rangers will have strong competition though with every state represented including SA’s Sturt Sabres who won the title back in 2015.

Victorian side Hawthorn Magic fell to the Rangers in the Junior Classic gold medal game and will be out for revenge while the Sydney Comets from NSW won the Under-14’s last year and are a perennial force in the tournament as New South Wales’ number 1 seed.

The gold medal could be wide open in the girls competition with neither of last year’s finalists, Knox or Bulleen, competing this year.

That could open the door for the Rangers to succeed in front of their home crowd and repeat their Championship efforts from 1997, 2000, ’02, ’03 and most recently in 2009.

However, the Bulleen Boomers and Nunawading Spectres are sure to have a lot of support as well and are coming off gold and silver medals respectively at the Junior Classic.

The Manly Warringah Sea Eagles from NSW are a strong contender for the Michele Timms Trophy too while teams like the Willetton Tigers (WA) and Canberra Capitals (ACT) have successful histories at the Club Champs.

Find the full list of teams as well as state seeding below. Stay tuned for the draw announcement and ticketing information.

Team Lists for the 2017 Australian Under-14 Club Championships:

ACT1Canberra Capitals
NSW1Sydney Comets
NSW2Manly Warringah Sea Eagles
NSW3Maitland Mustangs
NSW4Newcastle Hunters
NT1Darwin Cyclones
NT2Alice Springs Suns
QLD1Gold Coast Waves
QLD2Cairns Dolphins
QLD3South West Metro Pirates
SA1Forestville Eagles
SA2Sturt Sabres
SA3Southern Tigers
TAS1North West Tasmania Devils
TAS2Southern Tasmania Kangaroos
VIC1Bulleen Boomers
VIC2Dandenong Rangers
VIC3Diamond Valley Eagles
VIC4Eltham Wildcats
VIC5Nunawading Spectres
VIC6Ballarat Rush
WA1Willetton Tigers
WA2Joondalup Wolves
WA3Perry Lakes Hawks


ACT1Canberra Gunners
NSW1Sydney Comets
NSW2Illawarra Hawks
NSW3Norths Bears
NSW4Newcastle Hunters
NSW5Sutherland Sharks
NT1Darwin Cyclones
NT2Alice Springs Suns
QLD1Cairns Marlins
QLD2Brisbane Capitals
QLD3Mackay Meteors
SA1Norwood Flames
SA2North Adelaide Rockets
SA3Sturt Sabres
TAS1Northern Tasmania Tigers
TAS2Southern Tasmania Kangaroos
VIC1Dandenong Rangers
VIC2Hawthorn Magic
VIC3Bulleen Boomers
VIC4Eltham Wildcats
VIC5Geelong Supercats
WA1Willetton Tigers
WA2Rockingham Flames
WA3Perry Lakes Hawks

2017 Australian Under-14 Club Championships:

2-7 October, 2017
Dandenong Basketball Stadium
270 Stud Road, Dandenong Victoria 3175

  • Basketball


    • Which Opal will have the best 2017/18 WNBL season?

      View Results

      Loading ... Loading ...