Coach

COACHING IN AUSTRALIA:Lemanis

As a basketball coach in Australia, you will often form the first lasting impression that participants and their families have with our game.

Basketball throughout Australia relies on dedicated volunteers to teach people how to play the game and compete.  We recognise there is a need to support these
volunteers with high quality, consistent, accessible training.  This is fundamental to the development of players, coaches, pathways in sport and of the game in Australia.

Whether you are coaching a team of beginners who are just learning to love the sport or a national team, we hope you enjoy coaching Everyone’s Game.

FIND A COURSE/ENQUIRIES:

ACT Phil Brown Phil.Brown@basketballact.com.au
NSW Nathan Kirwan nathan.kirwan@bnsw.com.au
NT Rod Tremlett rod.tremlett@nt.basketball.net.au
QLD Tom Kyle Tom.Kyle@basketballqld.net.au
SA Lachlan Coppick participation1@basketballsa.com.au
TAS David Munns david.munns@basketballtas.com.au
VIC Rob Coulter Rob.Coulter@basketballvictoria.com.au
WA David Naylor david.naylor@basketballwa.asn.au

FIND A CLUB:

To find your local association contact click here.

COACHING RESOURCES:

The World Association of Basketball Coaches (WABC), in association with FIBA, have released a new and improved "Coaches Manual" which is available to all basketball coaches around the world free of charge.

The manuals are designed as an additional resource to complement coaching clinics and courses, and replaces the book formerly known as "Basketball for Young Players" which consisted of two coaching levels.

Download the manuals here

Manual Basketball Australia NCAS Level Suitable for…
Mini-ball Community Coach Vicinity Centres Aussie Hoops, Under 10s
Level 1 Club Coach Domestic and lower representative grade coaches
Level 2 Association Coach Higher representative grade coaches, including National Junior Championships and State Leagues
Level 3 Performance Coach National and International League coaches

COACHING ACCREDITATION:

Basketball Australia is currently reviewing the structure of its National Coaching Accreditation Scheme incorporating a national digital strategy and upcoming changes to FIBA’s accreditation model.

The aim is to enhance the way in which coaches access a higher quality of national resources and education, whilst feeling part of a national network of coaches.

All current processes for accreditation in your State/Territory remain valid until such changes are announced.

  • Basketball

    Poll

    • Which Opal will have the best 2017/18 WNBL season?

      View Results

      Loading ... Loading ...